#1 2016-01-08 22:43:35

Lobo

A good idea. Dead or reborn?

Hello,

sorry - you guys do not yet have a user area, so I was unsure where to post.

I am not a programmer, just a hobbyist, who self-learned C, Perl, Python and bash scripting. I can program a microcontroller, make a rough GUI application with GTK and Anjuta, fix a switch driver in OpenWRT - but that's not good enough for a big project.
I am not an electrical engineer, just a hobbyist who can design a circuit and solder it together (and most of the time it even works. ;) Hm, not good enough either.

Thus, since I plan to spend several month on a boat this year, I thought collecting depth data would be easy enough for me to do.
So I wanted to contribute depth data to OSeaM
- and then found out there is a fork.

Now you got me all confused.

There is Insight Genesis, TeamSurv, OSM, and ONC all fishing for users.
Where should I contribute?

Insight Genesis is not an option, TeamSurv does not appear to be free either. Well, maybe "free" as in "free beer", but there is no mention of a license, access is restricted and can be changed at will.
So it is OSM and ONC. I guess it should not matter, where I put in my data, because both are open and free, and you can pull from each other, but...

Do you sync the data?
Which team has more resources to actually deal with incoming data?
Is there some sort of collaboration between OSM and ONC?
Division of labour? Like the one focuses more on the software side and the other more on data collection?
Or... is it all on its way down the drain?

I guess I did my best to provoke an answer ;)
No offense meant!

Oliver

#2 2016-01-10 14:29:01

OpenDEM
Website

Re: A good idea. Dead or reborn?

Hi Oliver,

Please contribute your depth data to the OpenSeaMap Depth site: http://depth.openseamap.org

As far as I know it is not possible and planed to upload depth data at OpenNauticalChart.

Best regards,

Martin

#3 2016-01-11 13:37:31

Lobo

Hi Martin,